RSS Feed

In Whole Foods This Week

Evenin’!!

So there has been alot of this going on:

and this:

oh and somma dis’

oh and a splash of this!

Thumbs up to new house additions!

Besides some sanding here and there I have been mostly gardening while all this stuff has been going on.

Side Garden


Front Garden!

By the wedding we should have a new 8×14 Toddler Barn (WAY BIGGER than a baby barn), a new overhang over the front door, replaced deck braces and panels, A NEW BATHROOM and hardwood floors in the front mud room!! This is ALL THANKS to Galloway Mills superstars Fred Hudson and Monika Stucki. They built the Lemongrass/Peppers Patio last summer and have been good friends of ours for years! SO lucky to have them back this summer to help us out!!

HELL YES THEY BUILT THAT PATIO!!

Here is the latest dish I made with some of dear Dave’s Produce Pack offerings!


Onions from the produce pack and some garlic!


This is a little far into the cooking process but I will fill you in on the ingredients!

*Lite Coconut Milk
*Taste of Thai Green Curry Paste
*Shiritaki Noodles
from Whole Foods Market in Portland, ME
*Swiss Chard from DPP
*Spinach from DPP
*Green Onion from DPP
*Sweet Potato
*Red Pepper
*Tempeh

I sauteed the onion bulbs and the garlic first with some olive oil to get a good base. I then added about a third of the can of coconut milk and a bit of curry paste. Getting that to a low boil and stirring often is KEY to a deliciously thick curry. Don’t add all the coconut milk at once or you won’t have enough time to reduce it.

Once the garlic, onion, curry paste and coconut milk have boiled for a few minutes, add another tbs of curry paste and about a third of the can of coconut milk and bring to a boil again! You will be able to see the curry thickening up nicely. Next add the veggies and tempeh and coat with your curry mixture. LOOKIN GOOD AT THIS POINT! Watch your lovely veggies soften up and then add the rest of your coconut milk AND IF YOU DARE some more curry paste. I am a heat fiend so I always add lots and usually some sirachi if it is not quite hot enough! The addition of the extra coco milk will let you be able to cook your veggies and tempeh up nicely.

To add the shiritaki noodz, follow the cooking instructions on the package before adding them to the curry. According to the package you should cook them and pat them dry before adding them to any dish. This was the last thing I added to the dish because I did not want them becoming too mushy.

I LOVED THESE NOODLES. They are made completely of tofu and come in at 20 CALORIES FOR HALF A BAG!
HALF A BAG! EAT THE WHOLE BAG!
Anyway, I know you cannot get them around here but if you are down in the USA or probably in upper Canada, GET THEM AND BRING THEM HOME AT ALL COSTS!!

Here is the final result!


LOOK AT THOSE GLISTENING YAMS

Anyway! I have to give a BIG SHOUT OUT to Dave Wolpin at Dave’s Produce Packs for mentioning me in his weekly newsletter to all his produce pack people. Some of you have already commented and that is SO AWESOME!! BIG THANK YOU FOR THAT AND BIG HIGH FIVES ALL AROUND TO YOU KIND FOLK!!

Tomorrow is my Bridal Shower which is so crazy!! I get married ONE MONTH FROM TODAY! I got an amazing engagement ring from GB two days ago which has got me grinning everytime I look at it! I will show you guys a pic soon! This post took all day to write so nitenite Maritimers!

About granintraining

Currently in training for grannyhood/mommyhood

8 responses »

  1. Blythe Melanson

    Hey Joanna,

    I just stumbled upon your blog when Dave sent the link in his weekly newsletter. I love discovering Canadian blogs let alone good ole Saint John, NB blogs! Anyway, my uncle (Kevin Heenan) is good friends with your mom and I am a frequent shopper at Beckwith & Co; ) I love the name of your blog; my friends often give me a hard time and call me an “old soul”, haha! Good work on the blog, I really enjoy it : )

    Reply
    • granintraining

      Hey Blythe!!

      Thank you so much for commenting! I have met you before and am glad that you are a gran in training too!!! Thank you so much for reading! I just got a pottery wheel so there will be lots of grannyesqe activities happening after the wedding!
      Cheers!!

      Reply
  2. HI CHICK
    You can get those tofu noodles at the Saigon Grocery in Fredericton. Do you perchance know if they sell Daiya “Cheese” at the Whole Foods? I think I might be going there on Friday and will empty my trunk promptly if I can score some vegan cheese-like product there.

    I miss your pretty face
    xoxoxox

    Reply
    • granintraining

      HI GILLY!!!!
      So nice to see you here on the bloggie!!! I am betting they sell the Daiya Vegan Cheese at Whole Foods since they pretty much have EVERYTHING. But you have already been there by the looks of the date! I hope you found it!! With all the weddingness the blog has been getting neglected!! Thanks for the Shiritaki Tip!!! MISS YOU!xoxooxxo

      Reply
  3. Hi! Looking at your blog to get some ideas for the veggies in this week’s produce pack! Just wanted to let you know, you can get the fettuccine shaped Shirataki Tofu Noodles at Saigon Groceries in Fredericton at 495 Wilsey Road in the industrial park (off of exit 5). 🙂

    Reply
    • granintraining

      Thanks Erin!! I am gonna have to take a trip up and stock up. I did a pad thai with them the flat shiritakis the other day and was in heaven! Lots of Dave’s Broccoli, Scallions, Kale, Cilantro Bok Choi and Spiniach in mine. Here is the recipe I used:

      * 8 oz Shiritaki Noodles
      * 1/4 C reduced-sodium Tamari sauce
      * 3 tbsp brown sugar
      * 2 1/2 tbsp reduced-sodium soy sauce
      * Juice of 1 lime (about 2 Tbsp)
      * 1 tbsp rice wine vinegar
      * 1/2 tsp ground red pepper
      * 1 tbsp toasted sesame oil, divided
      * 4 oz firm tofu, cubed
      * 3 cloves garlic, minced
      * 1 egg + 2 egg whites, lightly beaten
      * 1/2 lb Shrimp
      * 1 C Dave’s Broccoli
      * Handful of Kale
      *1/2 C Dave’s Scallions
      *Handful of Spinach
      * 2 tbsp roughly chopped roasted, unsalted peanuts
      * 1 C Dave’s cilantro leaves

      Loading…
      Directions
      1.
      Soak noodles. Set aside.
      2.
      Whisk together fish sauce, sugar, soy sauce, lime juice, vinegar, pepper, and 1 teaspoon of the oil in small bowl. Set aside.
      3.
      Heat remaining 2 teaspoons oil in wok or large nonstick skillet over medium heat. When oil is hot but not smoking, add tofu and cook, turning once, until light brown, about 3 minutes. Add garlic and cook 1 to 2 minutes. Add eggs. When just set, stir and gently push to side of pan.
      4.
      Add chicken to pan and cook until no longer pink, about 5 minutes. Add sprouts and stir gently until all ingredients are barely combined. Stir in drained noodles, scallions, and fish sauce mixture and simmer just until liquid thickens slightly, 5 to 10 minutes.
      5.
      Serve garnished with the peanuts and cilantro.

      Happy Cooking!

      Reply
  4. Yum! I think I’ve tried a hundred pad thai recipes trying to find one I love…still searching. I will have to try yours…thanks!

    Reply
  5. granintraining

    Oh yeah its pretty good. I am just glad it doesnt have peanut butter in it. I am not a fan of the really nutty flavoured pad thai`s. I think some tamarind pulp would go well with this one. Fish sauce is also an option instead of the tamari, I just did not have any on hand! Post here if you find a good one!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

