RSS Feed

COFFEE

Good Monday Morning!

In case yesterday’s post did not clue you in to my love for fall here is yet another post getting excited about the crisp fall air and flavours!

I woke up this morning dreaming of my pumpkin scones that I made yesterday!

Original Recipe Here: Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Scones Tina from Carrots n Cake deserves all the credit! I just switched it up to make it a bit more breakfast worthy.

To health these up a bit I changed the recipe as follows:

Ingredients:

  • 1.5 cups spelt flour
  • 1/4 cup turbinado sugar
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 2 tablespoons softened olive oil based butter
  • 1/3 cup canned pumpkin
  • 1/3 cup honey yogurt
  • 1/2 cup pumpkin seeds

My changes to the recipe are in bold!

Instructions:

  • Preheat oven to 425.
  • Sift together the flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon, and salt.
  • Add in pumpkin, yogurt, and butter, mixing as you go.
  • Form dough into a ball, place on a greased baking sheet and pat down into a circle about 1/2 to 1/4 inches thick.
  • Sprinkle with sugar and cut into 8 segments.
  • Bake at 425*F for about 20 minutes or until edges are slightly crisp and the top is lightly browned.

I was very pumped to wake up this morning and warm up the scones and scarf em down. I am a huge coffee lover and thankfully had some coffee on hand that would go perfectly with my punkin scones!

BEHOLD THE GINGERBREAD SPICED COFFEE FROM JAVA MOOSE

2010-09-27 10.27.42

I have a variety of coffee making options because it honestly depends on my mood and hell we just got married and I may or may not have registered for 3 different types of coffee gadgets! Today’ s pick was the french press! I like this baby when it is just me having a cup or two.

2010-09-27 10.36.072010-09-27 10.36.262010-09-27 10.36.45

SO RICH AND FROTHY! It almost looks like hot chocolate! Java Moose came out with those little sampler packs pictured above and honestly for someone like me, who likes a different flavour everyday, they are perfect. I have a basket of them. Why not throw another 4 bucks down for some yummy flavours from a LOCAL BUSINESS!

With coffee press in hand and scones warmed, I immediately thought some cool contrast would go perfectly with my scones! Oh hello plain greek yougurt what are you sayin there all lonely in my fridge?

2010-09-27 10.45.37

I CAN HEAR YOU SAYING “I WANT TO BE WITH THOSE SEXY SCONES OVER THERE.”

OH! If you like my mug check out Meghan Billings. She is a mega talent and has her stuff at Beckwith & Co in the Saint John City Market.

Go get yer autumn on folks!

 

About granintraining

Currently in training for grannyhood/mommyhood

2 responses »

  1. I just wanted to say I’m in love with your blog and am excited to try all your delicious looking recipes!

    Also…guess I’m going to have to convince a friend to drive me to SJ so I can get some of that delicious delicious sounding flavoured coffee…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

