RSS Feed

“So Easy The Pug Could Do It” Tofu

Good Morning!!!

I already posted tonight so I decided to schedule something that may help inspire January 13th’s dinner!

There is a big push these days to incorporate a meatless meal into ones day even if you aren’t vegetarian. New documentaries are appearing all over the place: Forks over Knives, Food Inc. and Food Matters are a few of the more mainstream, big pictures that include this idea in their films. The idea that meat is a side dish instead of a main component has really stuck with me. Some good books on the subject are The China Study and Micheal Pollan’s Food Rules. If you are interested in reading more about a plant based diet, I highly recommend reading up on the concept and forming your own opinion.

For my meatless meal today I decided to try out my new, yet SO SIMPLE I SHOULD HAVE THOUGHT OF IT contraption:
DSC_0094
THE COOKBOOK HOLDER THING!
It was only 9 dollars at Indigo and will save me from having dough hands and trying to flip back to the page that fell closed….SAVE!

Tonight was use up the fridge night! I had a portion of Tofu (around 5oz), 8 grape tomatoes, a quarter of a bundle of green onion and 3 parsnips to use. WHAT IS A GIRL TO DO?!!? I don’t know if any of you hardcore Gran Fans remember me carrying ON and ON about nut butter parsnip fries? Well I was in the mood for them but wanted to figure out a way to incorporate that peanutty goodness into my tofu as well.

TOO THE COOKBOOKS!

I paged through my newest cookbook The Best of Clean Eating Magazine for inspiration. They had a recipe for Thai Peanut Tofu and Noodles. SOLD. Being that I only had about a quarter of what was needed, I had to improvise. Plus my noodz tonight were gonna be parsnip fries anyway…

ONE THING YOU MUST DO IF YOU WANT TOFU SUCCESS IS MAKE SURE YOU PRESS AS MUCH MOISTURE OUT OF IT AS POSSIBLE!! You do this by wrapping it in paper towel and putting a few of your heaviest cookbooks or pans on top of the paper towel tofu wad for about a half hour. I SWEAR it makes ALL the difference!!!

Now back to our regularly scheduled parsnip program…
BAM!
DSC_0093
Chop up your parsnips into fry like shapes, spray the pan with olive oil or cooking spray, spread your parsies, then crack some pepper over top and spray again with cooking oil. Toss into the oven at 400 degrees.

While your parsnips are roasting it is time to whip up the oh so yummy but NOT aesthetically pleasing peanut sauce!
First things first!
Get out yer blender!
Add two tablespoons of unsalted natural peanut butter:
DSC_0095

Next add 1/3 of a cup of your favorite salsa! (Mine is the salsa verde aka green sludge salsa)
DSC_0096

Then throw in some hot spice of your choice! I love sirachi but red pepper flakes or tabasco is fine too!
DSC_0097

Get yer blender goin’
DSC_0099

Bubble bubble! Tofu n Trouble!
DSC_0101

Set yer sauce aside and begin part two!
Mince 4 cloves of garlic and saute for about 30 seconds.
DSC_0102

Next add in your chopped, pressed tofu and a tsp of low sodium soya sauce:
DSC_0104
Make sure you toss it lots for about 5 minutes or until the tofu starts to brown.

Next add in whatever veggies you have on hand! Today it was tomato and green onion!
DSC_0105
Toss around with your tofu until the veggies are soft.

Next, add in your sauce. Now this is very important as well!! With peanut sauce you can only have it in a pan for a very short time as the PB will harden up quickly. You are basically just trying to warm it and coat the tofu!
DSC_0107
Stir quickly and all the sauce juuuuusssst to thicken! Set aside

Pull out your delightfully crunchy parsnip frites!
DSC_0108

Put on a plate, pour your peanut, tofu and veg over top of your parsnips and SERVE HOT!
DSC_0110

Here is the breakdown for the Peanutty Tofu peeps!
(Serves 3-4)

1 Package of Tofu (I used PC Blue Menu Herbed Tofu)
1 tsp or a few sprays of olive oil
4 cloves of minced garlic
1 tsp of low sodium soya sauce
Whateva Veggies You Like! I used grape tomatoes and onion here but you could use peppers, spinach, cauliflower! The skies the limit!!

Sauce:
2 tbs of peanut butter
1/3 c of Salsa of your choice
1/3 c of Water
1 tsp of spice factor of your choice (I used sirachi)
Blend in a blender for 15 seconds.

This is a great meat free AND VEGAN! option and VERY filling. I ate about 4 hours ago and still feel full! I hope ya’ll have a fantastic day and aren’t too sore from digging your car out this morning!!

About granintraining

Currently in training for grannyhood/mommyhood

7 responses »

  1. OMG! I’m totally going to have to try this recipe, it looks amazing. I haven’t had much success with tofu but I have never pressed it either, so that could be why!

    I know I just found your blog but I wanted to give you an award! You can find it here: http://positivelymeesh.wordpress.com/2011/01/13/snow-day/

    Have a great day!

    Reply
  2. Thus looks awesome Jo! I’m going to giver a go! 😀

    Reply
  3. I always say “I don’t like Tofu”, but I think you have inspired me to try this out! It looks delish, and parsnip frys, who would have thought!

    Reply
  4. Looks so delish Jo,def going to try it!

    Reply
  5. Joanne, you make everything look so simple! I’m going to give this a go myself tonight, have a lot of wilted looking veggies hanging around my fridge!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

